Q?

How efficient is a 15 cm back protector ?

A.

The 15 cm dorsal protector meets the certification's minimal requirements. Though better than none; we would rather talk shock absorption since our legs are best suited for the job. Protection as more to do with the pilot's ability to fly safely than by use of a mechanical added cushioning device.

 

Q?

AIRBAG or MOUSSE-BAG ?

A.

The MousseBag renamed Bumpair at SUP'AIR, was chosen for its aerodynamic properties ( the overall harness's thickness is reduced while keeping the same protective efficiency found with an Airbag). However, when lightweight and low volume are of the essence; the Airbag ( AB ) wins. Specific harness models combine and merge both protection designs.

 

Q?

I find it difficult seating inside my harness right after takeoff. Why ?

A.

If the leg straps are not tight enough and the running phase extended - light terrain incline, little or nil wind speed -, the harness will pull back up, rendering the transition from running to seating laborious to manage while raising your knees. Solution: tighten your leg straps !!!

Q?

What are the carabiners made of ?

A.

They are made of aluminum alloy 7075 also called Zicral, Ergal or Fortal Constructal. This alloy is a mix of aluminum, zinc, magnesium and copper. Its strength is similar to that of a few types of steel. This alloy is mainly used and often found with products targeting technical outdoors sport activities.

 

Q?

Is a harness / backpack more fragile than non reversible models?

A.

NO!, but when used in backpack mode, it will be more prone to damage with repeated ground contact, therefore, avoid seating on it or throw it to the ground from the top of the school's MiniBus... One must keep in mind that there always is the possibility to use a regular backpack to protect your cherished reversible harness. Extreme situations will arise when your luggage will be lugged around in vehicle trunks or roof racks traveling bouncy roads.

Q?

Product durability ?

A.

All selected materials involved in the manufacturing process have been thoroughly tested for reliability and longevity under normal circumstances. The quite costly Dyneema ripspot fabric with its high strength / low weight ratio was one of the chosen fabrics. However, harnesses still need to be handled with care and damage checked regularly as for any other lightweight product.

Q?

What is a carbiner’s life span ?

A.

Contrary to the carabiners used in climbing, those made for paragliding are not subjected to impact. We however strongly recommend replacing them every 5 years or sooner when visibly damaged and/or becoming difficult to close and lock in place.

Q?

When is a parachute repacking necessary ?

A.

Varied opinions will suggest that repacking a reserve parachute every three, six or twelve months is adequate. However, it would be wise to keep it under a year.

Q?

I need to return my harness to the Service Department. How to proceed ?

A.

The following accessories must be removed ( seat-plate, carabiners, rescue parachute, speed-bar... ), include your shipping/contact information with a telephone number and a reason for returning the merchandize prior shipping your harness ! Further information can be found by clicking on the "SAV" button in the right banner...

Q?

Should the carabiners be lubricated ?

A.

Paragliding carabiners are silicone lubricated during assembly and do not require additional treatment afterward, except if polluted with sand or other foreign agents. In case of the latter, clean thoroughly with detergent, rinse, dry, and lubricated with thin oil as used for climbing gear - Do not use grease! Regularly check the carabiners proper functioning !

Q?

Why is it important to regularly check the carbon seat plate?

A.

It is very important to check (every fifty -50- flights, or once a year) for it could be damaged. Its structural integrity could be at risk without you even noticing it, in addition to the added possibility of damage done to the supporting harness webbing as a whole.
- If the seat plate is damaged or broken, it must be replaced immediately.
- If the webbing is damaged, it is vital for you to contact your nearest SUP'AIR dealer prior using your harness again.

Q?

Quelle est la durée de vie d’une protection BUMPAIR ?

A.

La protection BUMPAIR doit être contrôlée après chaque choc important. Nous conseillons de remplacer le BUMPAIR après 3 chocs conséquents ou 5 ans d’utilisation.

Q?

Is the demand for light gear still on the rise ?

A.

Sup'Air's R&D has been on the move for many years to date, working at reducing its product line's overall weight. The demand is booming, as pilots expressed the desire to have the best of both worlds with top performing lighter gear. The DELIGHT was the result of such demand; enabling the pilot to use the same harness model year around in all flying conditions; it be XC or mountaineering.

Q?

How have you reached this incredible low weight ratio including protection and container?

A.

We did work on the harness quite a long time while aiming at being ready for the X-Alps 2011. The goal was to reach the best weight / comfort scenario without compromising safety. As time went on, our R&D team managed to meet all the criteria and be ready for the toughest race of them all.

Q?

Which harness is best?

A.

The harness range is broad and was designed to meet an array of requirements. Depending on the kind of flying speciality and your wallet thickness, it is always wise to use the appropriate tool for the task!

Q?

I have a 75 kg PTV ( total flying weight ), and a rescue parachute LIGHT size M was handed to me as a gift. Is it the correct size for my weight ?

A.

NO : it is too big and could generate the onset of unstable behavior ( with possibility of a violent side impact ). A size small would be more suited. The PTV weight chart must be respected and followed as indicated.

Q?

I have a 104 kg ( 228 lbs ) PTV ( total flying weight ), and hesitate in choosing between the LIGHT size M or L. Which one to choose ?

A.

A 104 Kg PTV ( total flying weight ), two sizes are available according to the weight chart. Depending on one's physique and abilities - young, slim, active, the size M will be more suited.

Q?

I hesitate in choosing between two harness sizes. Which of the two is the correct one ?

A.

It is recommended to have a good dorsal support ( without the side adjustment trims creating discomfort under the armpits )… If borderline between two sizes the larger one should do… But, the seating area must not be too wide or loose on the hips which could potentially generate horizontal rolling instability ! The solution would then be to swap the seat-plate by another with the next size down ( from size L to M as an example ).

Q?

What is the best way to enter the Speedbag ?

A.

Download PDF document

Q?

What are the Dyneema risers, 7 mm Maillons Rapides, and the two toric joints overall purposes?

A.

The risers are connected through a loop to loop configuration to the shoulders. The 7 mm Maillon Rapide connect the risers to the parachute. The toric joints prevent any sliding of the riser on the Maillon Rapide. This type of reserve parachute connection is lighter than the standard ( Polyester risers assembly with two 6 mm Maillons Rapides ).

Q?

Why only use a self-retractable foot-rest with harnesses equipped with reserve parachutes under the seat ?

A.

The self-retracting foot-rest elasticated cord prevents any interference during the reserve parachute extraction. Without the elasticated cord, the foot-rest would be dangling beneath the seat when not in use.

Q?

What are the advantages of flying with a Speedbag?

A.

When properly angled, the Speedbag reduces the drag factor and brings noticeable improved performance to the wing depending on the glider model and its overall air-speed. It brings added comfort and well appreciated warmth during long flights while limiting the need to urinate; condition increased by cold temperatures...

Q?

What does “bord-côte” ?

A.

A french technical word describing a knitted extendible band used for the opening of a garment.

Q?

What is the FLEX SEAT ?

A.

It is a new hybrid design/concept between a seat-plate and a spit-leg configuration.
The legs are kept together as when using a seat-plate, but in a more flexible way forming to the leg's contour.

Q?

What is the Speedbag “line guiding system” ?

A.

It is a long nylon rectangular fabric piece enabling the Speedbag's length adjustments. It is kept under tension while keeping the accelerator in close proximity to the pilot's feet for easy access when back pedaling.

Q?

What is the PTV ?

A.

It is the total flying/hooking weight ( Poids Total Volant in French ) - Pilot weight + all his/her gear.
Those characteristics are generally included and indicated within the paraglider's relevant technical information section.

Q?

Why does it indicate the total hooking weight without the paraglider ?

A.

The paraglider 's weight can not and must not be included when a reserve parachute's total hooking weight is calculated for it is not suspended/hanging from the deployed rescue canopy. Additionally, a rescue parachute's weight can vary from model to model and brand to brand...

Q?

How to best pull the reserve parachute handle.

A.

It is easier to extract the reserve parachute if pulled outward and away from the harness.

Q?

Quelle efficacité peut-on attendre d’un BUMP’AIR de 15 cm ?

A.

Pour dire la vérité, le BUMP'AIR 15 cm offre le minimum d'amortissement requis pour que la sellette soit certifiée! Mais c'est bien mieux que rien. Nous préférons parler d'absorption de choc, car la meilleure protection sera toujours les jambes du pilote. Comme chaque pilote devrait le savoir, la sécurité a toujours plus à voir avec le comportement du pilote qu'avec n'importe quelle protection...

 

Q?

AIRBAG ou MOUSSE-BAG ?

A.

Les MOUSSE-BAG (appelé BUMP'AIR chez nous) sont utilisés pour avoir un meilleur aérodynamisme (l'épaisseur de la sellette est moindre pour le même amortissement qu'un AIRBAG). Dès que légèreté et volume réduit sont importants, c'est l'AIRBAG qui s'impose ! Certains modèles combinent les avantages de ces 2 systèmes...

 

Q?

J’ai de la peine à m’asseoir dans la sellette après le décollage. Pourquoi?

A.

Si les cuissardes ne sont pas assez tendues et que la course d'élan est longue (terrain plat, peu de vent...), la sellette remonte dans le dos et il est impossible de passer assis en levant les genoux. Remède: serrez plus les cuissardes !!!

Q?

En quelle matière sont les mousquetons légers ?

A.

Ils sont fabriqués en alliage d'aluminium 7075 appelé aussi Zicral, Ergal ou Fortal Constructal. Il est composé d'aluminium, zinc, magnésium et de cuivre. Sa résistance est comparable à certains aciers. Cet alliage est utilisé principalement pour les produits techniques destinés aux activités sportives extérieures.

 

Q?

Est-ce qu’une sellette réversible est plus fragile?

A.

NON, mais comme elle est exposée à l'usure aussi quand elle sert de sac. Il faut éviter de s'asseoir dessus, de la lancer depuis le toit des minibus de l'école... Il faut garder à l'esprit que l'on peut toujours utiliser un sac classique pour protéger sa magnifique sellette SUP'AIR réversible dans les cas extrêmes!

Q?

Quel est l’impact du LIGHT sur la durabilité ?

A.

Tous les matériaux utilisés ont été testés et choisis pour leur durabilité, ainsi il ne devrait pas y avoir de problème pour une utilisation "normale". Par exemple, nous utilisons un tissu Dyneema RipStop à haute résistance et faible poids, qui est très onéreux. Néanmoins, la sellette requiert toujours du soin et des contrôles réguliers, comme pour tout produit LIGHT.

Q?

Quelle est la durée de vie d’un mousqueton ?

A.

Contrairement aux mousquetons utilisés en alpinisme, les mousquetons de parapente ne sont pas soumis à des chocs. Nous préconisons tout de même de les remplacer tous les 5 ans ou dès qu'ils ont du mal à se fermer.

Q?

Quand faut-il replier ou faire replier son parachute?

A.

Il y a plusieurs avis: 3 mois, 6 mois ou un année. Disons que ce n'est pas raisonnable du tout d'attendre plus d'une année.

Q?

Je dois renvoyer ma sellette au SAV (Service Après-Vente). Comment procéder ?

A.

Il faut démonter les accessoires (plateau, mousquetons, parachute, accélérateur…), joindre vos coordonnées avec numéro de téléphone et un descriptif de la raison de l'envoi… et envoyer le colis ! Infos complètes en cliquant sur le bouton "SAV" dans le bandeau de droite...

Q?

Faut-il lubrifier les mousquetons ?

A.

Les mousquetons de parapente sont lubrifiés avec du silicone au montage. Ce n'est plus nécessaire par la suite, sauf en cas de pollution avec du sable ou autre. Si cela arrive, lavez avec un détergent, rincez, séchez et lubrifiez avec une huile fluide (comme pour des mousquetons d’alpinisme), mais n'utilisez pas de graisse ! Contrôlez régulièrement le bon fonctionnement des mousquetons !

Q?

Pourquoi faut-il régulièrement contrôler le plateau carbone ?

A.

Il est très important de le vérifier (tous les 50 vols ou une fois par an) car il pourrait être cassé sans que vous l'ayez remarqué ! Cela pourrait abîmer les sangles de structure de la sellette. - Si le plateau est cassé ou abîmé, il faut le remplacer. - Si les sangles sont abimées, il est impératif de contacter votre revendeur avant d'utiliser à nouveau votre sellette.

Q?

Quelle est la durée de vie d’une protection BUMPAIR ?

A.

La protection BUMPAIR doit être contrôlée après chaque choc important. Nous conseillons de remplacer le BUMPAIR après 3 chocs conséquents ou 5 ans d’utilisation.

Q?

Est-ce que la demande pour du matériel léger est toujours en augmentation ?

A.

SUP'AIR développe et innove depuis de nombreuses années pour réduire le poids des sellettes et des parachutes. La demande est très forte et de plus en plus de pilotes ne veulent plus devoir choisir entre une sellette légère et une sellette performante. SUP'AIR a conçu la DELIGHT pour les satisfaire et leur permettre d'utiliser la même sellette tout au long de l'année, que ce soit en compétition, vol de distance ou en montagne.

Q?

Comment avez-vous pu atteindre une légèreté aussi incroyable? (même en incluant le BUMP’AIR et la poche para)

A.

Nous avons travaillé depuis longtemps sur cette sellette avec le but de l'avoir prête pour la X Alps 2011. Nous voulions atteindre le meilleur rapport poids / confort et cela sans compromis en terme de sécurité. Jour après jour, proto après proto, la DELIGHT est devenue plus légère en conservant le confort et la sécurité requis pour une course aussi exigeante.

Q?

C’est laquelle la meilleure sellette ?

A.

La gamme est large pour répondre aux maximums de besoins. Il y a différents compromis et, suivant la pratique (et le porte-monnaie !), il peut être judicieux d'avoir plusieurs sellettes !

Q?

J’ai un PTV de 75 kg et on m’a offert un parachute LIGHT M. Est-ce qu’il me convient ?

A.

NON : il est trop grand et cela peut générer de l'instabilité (possibilité d'impact violent). Mieux vaut le vendre et acheter un S… Il faut respecter la plage de poids PTV indiquée.

Q?

J’ai un PTV de 104 kg et j’hésite entre le parachute LIGHT M et le L. Lequel choisir ?

A.

À 104 kg de PTV, on peut opter pour les 2 tailles d'après les plages de poids indiquées. Si on est un jeune sportif dynamique, on choisira le M. Si on est un retraité avec des plaques dans le dos, la taille L sera plus adaptée pour obtenir un atterrissage plus doux !

Q?

J’hésite entre 2 tailles d’une sellette. Laquelle choisir ?

A.

Il est avantageux d'être bien soutenu dans le dos (sans que les réglages latéraux gênent sous les bras) donc, il faudrait prendre la plus grande taille… Mais il faudrait aussi que l'assise ne soit pas trop large, car cela provoque de l'instabilité déstabilisante ! Solution : choisir la grande taille et remplacer le plateau d'origine par un plus étroit.

Q?

Quelle est la meilleure technique pour s’installer dans le Speedbag ?

A.

Voir le document PDF

Q?

À quoi servent les élévateurs en Dyneema, le maillon rapide 7 mm et les 2 joints toriques livrés avec la sellette ?

A.

Les élévateurs se connectent par tête d'alouette aux épaules. Le maillon de 7 mm raccorde les élévateurs au parachute. Les joints toriques évitent tout glissement sur le maillon. Ce type de montage du parachute est plus léger que le montage classique (élévateurs Polyester avec 2 maillons rapides de 6 mm).

Q?

Pourquoi faut-il utiliser uniquement un cale-pieds rétractable sur les sellettes avec poche parachute sous assise ?

A.

L'élastique de rappel du cale-pieds rétractable évite toute interférence lors l'extraction du parachute. Sans cet élastique, le cale-pieds pendrait sous l'assise lorsque l'on n'utilise pas !

Q?

Quels sont les avantages de voler avec un Speedbag ?

A.

Le Speedbag, lorsque son incidence est bien réglée, permet de diminuer la traînée du pilote et améliore la performance de façon variable selon le type de voile et les vitesses de vol. Il offre surtout un gain de confort et de chaleur très appréciable pour les vols de durée...

Q?

Qu’est que signifie bord-côte ?

A.

C'est une bande de tricot extensible qui resserre ou garnit les ouvertures d’un vêtement.

Q?

Qu’est que le FLEX SEAT ?

A.

C'est un nouveau concept d'assise résultant d'une hybridation entre cuissardes et plateau. Les jambes sont solidarisées comme avec un plateau, mais de façon souple en épousant la forme des cuisses. En vol, les mouvements des jambes ne sont plus dissociés comme sur des cuissardes, mais associés comme sur plateau.

Q?

Que signifie “plan de glissement” (Speedbag) ?

A.

C'est est un long rectangle de tissu nylon qui sert au réglage de la longueur du Speedbag. Il est tendu en vol et garde l'accélérateur à proximité des pieds du pilote qui peut facilement l'attraper avec le talon.

Q?

Qu’est-ce que le PTV ?

A.

C'est le Poids Total Volant, soit le pilote avec tout son équipement. C'est ce qui est généralement indiqué sur les données techniques des parapentes.

Q?

Pourquoi est-il indiqué pour la charge “PTV sans le parapente” ?

A.

On ne compte pas le poids du parapente dans la charge d'un parachute car il n'est pas suspendu au parachute lorsqu'il est déployé. De plus, les poids des parapentes sont très variables selon le modèle...

Q?

Quelle est la meilleure façon de tirer la poignée du parachute de secours ?

A.

Il est généralement plus facile d'extraire le parachute de sa poche si on tire la poignée vers l'extérieur (en écartant la poignée de la sellette). C'est pourquoi il est impératif de toujours tester l'extraction du secours après chaque montage.