Supair & X-Alps 2017

The 2017 X-Alps edition ended on Friday 14 July with the podium and awards ceremony; here is a look back on this legendary race and the performance of the SUPAIR athletes.

At the start of the race, 9 athletes are equipped with SUPAIR gear. Gaspard Petiot, Gavin McClurg, Mitch Riley and Claudio Heidel Schemberger will participate with a “Strike X-Alps” harness, a “Trek Light” backpack and a SUPAIR helmet. Additionally, Benoit Outters, Duncan Kotze, Tom De Dorlodot, Michal Gierlach and David Liano will fly the “Wild”, the latest addition to the SUPAIR wing line.

The traditional "Leatherman Prologue" will see a SUPAIR athlete stand out with a beautiful 3rd place: Benoit Outters. An indication of what is to come next from the SUPAIR test-pilot, imperial throughout the entire race.

In the first few days from the beginning of the race, Christian Maurer will catch up after delays experienced early on, forced him to start last after missing prologue due to illness. He will eventually close the gap, with Gaspard Petiot in his tracks and even managing to lead the race for a few hours. The hectic climatic conditions (wind and rain mainly) make the task for the athletes especially complicated, preventing them from flying on the first day.

At the end of the XXXXX, Claudio Heidel Schemberger shows and puts his ironclad state of mind to the test, brushing off a near state of hypothermia, using his night pass, to keep his standing in the race. David Liano will be the first athlete out due to tibia problems (periostitis), choosing to continue rather than giving up so as not to eliminate the athlete preceding him. A gesture true to the spirit of the X-Alps competition, which despite its size is often the theater for beautiful demonstrations of human endeavor and "sportsmanship".

In the middle of the standings, Tom De Dorlodot was encumbered in his race by difficult conditions, especially on the 4th day, where he will remain grounded just as Gavin McClurg was.

The 5th day of racing will see Claudio Heidel Schemberger eliminated; In the fight with Duncan Kotze, he will not be able to make up for the gap between them and will finish his X-Alps run with nearly 400 km traveled. For his part, the South African floored the accelerator at the right moment, and a 70km lead on Claudio allowed him to continue the adventure until day 8 during which it will be his turn to be eliminated.

After starting the race in the middle of the standings, Benoit Outters began a breakthrough that would last until the end of the event. Following a good flight not far from Turnpoint 5, Monte Baldo, he moved 6th and closer to the leading position. Michal Gierlach finds himself facing more adversed conditions and must shorten his flights due to turbulent winds. Despite a 48-hour suspension following a flight in a controlled airspace, Tom De Dorlodot continues his race.

Gaspard Petiot is on the heels of the leader Chrigel Maurer when he has to withdraw from the competition following a wrist and knee injury. Leaving the second place to Benoît Outters whose endurance on the ground is nothing short of impressive.

Tom de Dorlodot will have overcome many obstacles to finish his race at Lake Garda, as for Michal Gierlach, the adventure will end in a magnificent setting: Lake Como. Gavin McClurg will complete his X-Alps in a running battle against the Canadian pilot Richard Brezina.

The athletes standings will not change much on the last days of the event, and Benoît Outters will outstandingly maintain his 2nd place, being the only athlete to land at Peille, before arriving in Monaco only 2 hours behind the winner Maurer, for his first participation in the competition. An incredible performance by the developer and test pilot of the Wild, with which he climbs on the 2nd step of the podium.

Résultats finaux :

1. Christian Maurer (SUI1) – 10 days 23 hours
2. Benoit Outters (FRA4) – 11 days 1 hour
3. Paul Guschlbauer (AUT1) – 5km from goal
4. Ferdinand van Schelven (NLD) – 49km from goal
5. Simon Oberrauner (AUT4) – 51km from goal
6. Pascal Purin (AUT3) – 86km from goal
7. Pal Takats (HUN) – 89km from goal
8. Sebastian Huber (GER1) - 95km from goal
9. Nick Neynens (NZL) – 130km from goal
10. Stanislav Mayer (CZE) – 172km from goal
11. Toma Coconea (ROU) – 271km from goal
12. Nelson de Freyman (FRA3) – 275km from goal
13. Tobias Grossrubatscher (ITA2) – 275 from goal
14. Gavin McClurg (USA1) – 308km from goal
15. Richard Brezina (CAN) – 319km from goal
16. Michal Gierlach (POL) – 378km from goal
17. Evgenii Griaznov (RUS) – 457km from goal
18. Jesse Williams (USA2) – 474km from goal
19. Tom de Dorlodot (BEL) – 510km from goal
20. Manuel Nübel (GER2) – withdrawn - 209km from goal
21. Gaspard Petiot (FRA2) – withdrew – 383km from goal
22. Mitch Riley (USA3) – eliminated – 530km from goal
23. Krischa Berlinger (SUI2) – withdrew – 551km from goal
24. Jose Arevalo Guede (ESP) – eliminated – 745km from goal
25. Che Golus (AUS) – withdrew – 773km from goal
26. Aaron Durogati (ITA1) – withdrew – 776km from goal
27. Duncan Kotze (RSA) – eliminated – 832km from goal
28. Claudio Heidel Schemberger (ARG) – eliminated – 967km from goal
29. Stephan Gruber (AUT2) – withdrew – 984km from goal
30. Antoine Girard (FRA1) – withdrew – 1048km from goal
31. David Liano Gonzalez (MEX) – eliminated – 1059km from goal

Supair & X-Alps 2017

 

L'édition 2017 de la X-Alps s'est achevée vendredi 14 Juillet dernier par le podium et la remise des prix, retour sur cette course mythique et les performances des athlètes Supair.

Au départ de la course, 9 athlètes sont équipés de matériel Supair. Gaspard Petiot, Gavin McClurg, Mitch Riley et Claudio Heidel Schemberger participeront avec une sellette Strike X-Alps, un sac à dos Trek Light et un casque Supair. De leur coté, Benoit Outters, Duncan Kotze, Tom De Dorlodot, Michal Gierlach et David Liano voleront, en plus de cet équipement, avec la Wild, la dernière née des voiles Supair.

Le traditionnel "Leatherman Prologue" verra un athlète Supair se distinguer avec une belle 3ème place : Benoit Outters. Un signe avant coureur du reste de la compétition, tant notre pilote-test Supair aura été impérial pendant l'intégralité de la course.

Lors des premiers jours de course, Christian Maurer rattrapera l'intégralité de son retard, lui qui était parti dernier suite à son forfait au prologue, avec dans sa trace Gaspard Petiot, qui fera même très fort en prenant la tête de la course quelques heures. Les conditions climatiques délicates (vent et pluie principalement) rendent la tâche des athlètes particulièrement compliquée, les empêchant notamment de voler le premier jour.

En fin de course, Claudio Heidel Schemberger fait preuve d'un mental à tout épreuve, frôlant l'hypothermie en utilisant son "night pass", afin de ne pas être éliminé. David Liano sera le premier éliminé, en délicatesse avec son tibia (périostite), en choisissant de continuer plutôt que d'abandonner afin de ne pas éliminer l'athlète devant lui. Un geste dans l'esprit de la X-Alps, qui malgré la dimension compétition est souvent le théâtre de belles démonstrations de "sportsmanship".

En milieu de classement, Tom De Dorlodot aura été gêné dans sa course par des conditions difficiles, notamment le 4ème jour, où il restera cloué au sol tout comme Gavin McClurg.

Le 5ème jour de course verra Claudio Heidel Schemberger être éliminé; à la lutte avec Duncan Kotze, il n'aura pas réussi à refaire son retard et finira sa X-Alps avec près de 400 km parcourus. De son côté, le Sud-Africain aura mis un coup d'accélérateur au bon moment et une avance de 70 km environ sur Claudio lui permit de continuer l'aventure jusqu'au jour 8 au cours duquel il sera à son tour éliminé.

Après un debut de course en milieu de classement, Benoit Outters commence une percée qui durera jusqu'à la fin de la course. Suite à un beau vol non loin du Turnpoint 5, Monte Baldo, il se replace 6ème et se rapproche de la tête de course. Michal Gierlach se trouve quant à lui confronté à des conditions plus compliquées et doit raccourcir ses vols à cause de vents turbulents. Malgré une suspension de 48h suite à un vol dans un espace aérien, Tom De Dorlodot continue sa course.

Gaspard Petiot est quant à lui sur les talons du leader Chrigel Maurer quand il doit se retirer de la compétition suite à une blessure au poignet et au genou. Laissant la seconde place à un Benoît Outters dont l'endurance au sol est tout simplement impressionnante.

Tom de Dorlodot aura surmonté de nombreux obstacles et terminera sa course au Lac de Garde, quant à Michal Gierlach, l'aventure s'achèvera dans un cadre magnifique : le Lac de Come. Gavin McClurg finira sa X-Alps par une course à pied remportée contre le canadien Richard Brezina.

Les places ne changeront que très peu sur les derniers jours de course et Benoît Outters maintiendra sa seconde place avec brio, en étant le seul athlète à atterrir à Peille, avant une arrivée à Monaco seulement 2 heures derrière le vainqueur Maurer, pour sa première participation à la compétition. Une performance incroyable pour celui qui aura été le "metteur au point" et le pilote de test de la Wild, avec laquelle il grimpe sur la 2ème marche du podium.

Résultats finaux :

1.    Christian Maurer (SUI1) – 10 jours 23 heures
2.    Benoit Outters (FRA4) – 11 jours 1 heure
3.    Paul Guschlbauer (AUT1) – 5km de l'arrivée
4.    Ferdinand van Schelven (NLD) – 49km de l'arrivée
5.    Simon Oberrauner (AUT4) – 51km de l'arrivée
6.    Pascal Purin (AUT3) – 86km de l'arrivée
7.    Pal Takats (HUN) – 89km de l'arrivée
8.    Sebastian Huber (GER1) - 95km de l'arrivée
9.    Nick Neynens (NZL) – 130km de l'arrivée
10.   Stanislav Mayer (CZE) – 172km de l'arrivée
11.   Toma Coconea (ROU) – 271km de l'arrivée
12.   Nelson de Freyman (FRA3) – 275km de l'arrivée
13.   Tobias Grossrubatscher (ITA2) – 275 de l'arrivée
14.   Gavin McClurg (USA1) – 308km de l'arrivée
15.   Richard Brezina (CAN) – 319km de l'arrivée
16.   Michal Gierlach (POL) – 378km de l'arrivée
17.   Evgenii Griaznov (RUS) – 457km de l'arrivée
18.   Jessie Williams (USA2) – 474km de l'arrivée
19.   Tom de Dorlodot (BEL) – 510km de l'arrivée
20.   Manuel Nübel (GER2) –  abandon - 209km de l'arrivée
21.   Gaspard Petiot (FRA2) – abandon – 383km de l'arrivée
22.   Mitch Riley (USA3) – éliminé – 530km de l'arrivée
23.   Krischa Berlinger (SUI2) – abandon – 551km de l'arrivée
24.   Jose Arevalo Guede (ESP) – éliminé – 745km de l'arrivée
25.   Che Golus (AUS) – abandon – 773km de l'arrivée
26.   Aaron Durogati (ITA1) – abandon – 776km de l'arrivée
27.   Duncan Kotze (RSA) – abandon – 832km de l'arrivée
28.   Claudio Heidel Schemberger (ARG) – éliminé – 967km de l'arrivée
29.   Sebastian Gruber (AUT2) – abandon – 984km de l'arrivée
30.   Antoine Girard (FRA1) – abandon – 1048km de l'arrivée
31.   David Liano Gonzalez (MEX) – éliminé – 1059km de l'arrivée