Benoit Outters

Portrait - Benoit Outters

BENOIT OUTTERS

Can you introduce yourself in a few words?

BO: I am 29 years old, I grew up in the back country of Nice, a region I would not leave for anything in the world! Today I am a professional fireman in Nice, a job that in addition to being a passion allows me to have some free time to fly and train.

Benoit Outters

When and how did you learn paraglider ?

BO: I have always been fascinated by paraglider , but at first I thought it was reserved for an "elite". It was in 2013 that it all clicked. A friend called me one evening (Tom REMI, he was with me on the X-Alps 2019). He tells me about his flight, one of his first cross-country runs, a flight of almost 100km! It's 11pm and he's still walking in the mountains after landing at altitude. That's when I became aware of the possibilities offered by paraglider. A week later I was launched, I even bought my gear before starting a course!
Jean Vincent Ducrocq trained me on the St-Vallier site and I quickly started to cross-country.

Benoit Outters at the X-Alps

What is your practice at paraglider ?

BO: Cross country remains the ultimate discipline for me at paraglider, flying over the most beautiful massifs of the Alps in total freedom, it's crazy the pleasure it gives!

Benoit Outters at the Red Bull X-alps in WILD and STRIKE

Do you have a special memory of flight to share with us?

BO: There are many but my last flight to Monaco on the 2017 X-Alps remains the most memorable. After such a difficult race (more than 200km on foot in the last 48 hours!), to be on familiar ground and enjoy a last ride to the finish was magical.

Beoit Outters with the STRIKE

What are your upcoming projects (paraglider and outside paraglider) ?

BO: Right now I'm renovating a house, it's a lot of work but I'm learning to do a lot of new things, it's pretty rewarding to do things yourself.
In paraglider I hope to be able to line up at the start of the next X-Alps, it's really an unusual race but it requires a lot of preparation. Otherwise for this summer maybe a flight tandem bivouac (with my wife) in the Alps.

Christophe Dumarest with his SUPAIR wing
Portrait - Christophe Dumarest
LMJJ
Profile - LMJJ

Dans cette série d'articles nous allons présenter des pilotes avec lesquels nous entretenons une relation spéciale. Vous pourrez ainsi faire connaissance avec ceux-ci. C'est aujourd'hui au tour de Benoit Outters!

Peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

BO : J'ai 29 ans, j'ai grandi dans l'arrière pays-niçois, une région que je ne quitterais pour rien au monde ! Aujourd'hui je suis pompier professionnel à Nice, un métier qui en plus d'être une passion me permet d'avoir un peu de temps libre pour voler et m'entraîner.

Quand et comment as-tu appris le parapente ?

BO : Le parapente m'a toujours fasciné, mais j'ai d'abord pensé que c'était réservé à une ''elite''. C'est en 2013 que j'ai eu le déclic. Un pote m'appelle un soir (Tom REMI, il était avec moi sur la X-Alps 2019). Il me raconte son vol, un de ses premiers cross un vol de presque 100km ! Il est 23h et il marche encore en montagne après avoir posé en altitude. C'est à ce moment-là j'ai pris conscience des possibilités que nous offre le parapente. Une semaine plus tard j'étais lancé, j'ai même acheté mon matos avant de commencer un stage !
Jean Vincent Ducrocq m'a formé sur le site de St-Vallier et rapidement je me suis mis à crosser.

Quelle est ta pratique du parapente ?

BO : Le cross reste la discipline ultime pour moi en parapente, survoler les plus beaux massifs des Alpes en toute liberté, c'est dingue le plaisir que cela procure !

As-tu un souvenir marquant de vol à nous partager ?

BO : Il y a en beaucoup mais mon dernier vol jusqu'à Monaco sur la X-Alps 2017 reste le plus marquant. Après une course aussi difficile (plus de 200km à pied les dernières 48h! ), se retrouver en terrain connu et profiter d'un dernier gilde jusqu'à l'arrivée c'était magique.

Quels sont tes projets à venir (parapente et hors parapente) ?

BO : En ce moment je retape une maison, c'est beaucoup de boulot mais j'apprends à faire plein de nouvelles choses, c'est plutôt gratifiant de faire les choses soi-même.
En parapente j'espère pouvoir m'aligner au départ de la prochaine X-Alps, c'est vraiment une course hors norme mais qui demande pas mal de préparatifs. Sinon pour cet été peut être un vol bivouac en biplace (avec ma femme) à la cool dans les Alpes.