Christophe Dumarest with his SUPAIR wing

Portrait - Christophe Dumarest

CHRISTOPHE DUMAREST

Can you introduce yourself in a few words?

CD: I used to say that I was born in a backpack. My parents and especially my father were experienced mountain bikers. Even if I would sometimes have preferred to spend my weekends in Walibi, I was always in the mountains. I started ski mountaineering when I was 6 years old and before I was 10 I already had a nice list of races, including a summit of more than 4000m.
Today I divide my time between my job as a guide, writer and technical advisor for various brands.

Christophe Dumarest

When and how did you learn paraglider ?

CD: I did my first flights paraglider and delta with my father when I was very small. He was one of the few to fly at the Col de la Forclaz in the 80s. It's finally quite late that I took the step to start seriously, I had sworn not to crack before 60 years old (the right age to have time and to take the risk to get hurt, even if there is no age!) I did not learn to fly in the most academic way. Indeed, it was friends, exceptional pilots who trained me. The training was done in the fields surrounding my village of Dingy Saint Clair. With them, I was able to benefit from an accelerated Training , but the learning will never be finished. What little I know I owe to them.

Christophe Dumarest in mountaineering

What is your practice at paraglider ?

CD: My practice is directly associated with the mountains. I still use the paraglider more to descend than to climb. Nevertheless, the concept of crossing, roaming and other bivouac flights offered by paraglider seems infinite to me, especially with the development of new tools that are ever safer and more efficient. The experience of flight is also addictive and I am wary of myself and my relationship with commitment "great daring often makes small careers".

Christophe Dumarest with his SUPAIR wing

Do you have a special memory of flight to share with us?

CD: My two flights from the summit of the Aiguille du Midi with a take-off on the north side remain outstanding. The first one in 2010 in tandem with Philippe Barnier, done at night, and at the end of an exceptional route in the Mt Blanc massif (six days of linking up in the footsteps of Walter Bonatti), with a Landing in car headlights mode! The second one was solo and the flight over the Chamonix peaks in winter seemed completely surreal to me. Alone in a sky and an environment worthy of Samivel.
I keep a more mixed memory of a takeoff by effect of "foehn" of the top of the Mont Blanc.

Christophe Dumarest

What are your upcoming projects (paraglider and outside paraglider) ?
CD: The experience of the last events related to the confinement confirms me in the idea that the adventures must be lived in an even more local way. That we should be looking for new ways of looking at things rather than for new destinations in the distance. That by revisiting an IGN map and being creative, we can still experience beautiful things while going perhaps much less far. I dream of mixing a logical alpine sequence with the help of paraglider.
Contact :
www.christophedumarest.com

Health recommendations COVID-19
Benoit Outters
Portrait - Benoit Outters

Dans cette série d'articles nous allons présenter des pilotes avec lesquels nous entretenons une relation spéciale. Vous pourrez ainsi faire connaissance avec ceux-ci. Pour ce nouveau portait, voici Christophe Dumarest!

Peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

CD : J’ai l’habitude de dire que je suis né dans un sac à dos. Mes parents et surtout mon père étaient des pratiquants chevronnés. Même si j’aurais parfois préféré passer mes week-ends à Walibi, j’étais tout le temps en montagne. J’ai commencé le ski alpinisme à 6ans et avant 10ans j’avais déjà une jolie liste de courses dont un sommet de plus de 4000m.
Aujourd'hui je partage mon temps entre mon métier de guide, de rédacteur et celui de conseiller technique pour différentes marques.

Quand et comment as-tu appris le parapente ?

CD : J'ai fait mes premiers vols parapente et en delta avec mon père quand j'étais tout petit. Il faisait partie des rares à voler au col de la Forclaz dans les années 80. C'est finalement assez tard que j'ai franchi le pas pour m'y mettre sérieusement, j'avais pourtant juré de ne pas craquer avant 60ans (le bon âge pour avoir du temps et prendre le risque de se faire mal, même s'il n'y a pas d’age !!). Je n'ai pas appris à voler de la manière la plus académique qui soit. En effet se sont des amis, des pilotes exceptionnels qui m'ont formé. L'apprentissage s'est fait dans les champs qui entourent mon village de Dingy Saint Clair. Avec eux, j'ai ainsi pu bénéficier d'une formation accélérée, mais l'apprentissage ne sera jamais terminé. Le peu que je sais je leur dois.

Quelle est ta pratique du parapente ?

CD : Ma pratique est directement associée à la montagne. Je me sers encore davantage du parapente pour descendre que pour monter. Néanmoins le concept de traversée, d'itinérance et autres vols bivouacs qu'offrent le parapente me semble infini, notamment avec le développement des nouveaux outils toujours plus sûrs et plus performants. L'expérience du vol thermique aussi est addictive et je me méfie de moi-même et de mon rapport à l'engagement "les grandes audaces font souvent les petites carrières".cit Livanos.

As-tu un souvenir marquant de vol à nous partager ?

CD : Mes deux vols du sommet de l'Aiguille du Midi avec un décollage côté nord restent marquants. Le premier en 2010 en biplace avec Philippe Barnier, effectué de nuit, et à l'issue d'un parcours exceptionnel dans le massif du Mt Blanc (six jours d'enchainement sur les traces de Walter Bonatti), avec un atterrissage en mode phares de voiture! Le second en solo et où le survol des aiguilles de Chamonix en hiver m'a paru complètement surréaliste. Seul dans un ciel et un environnement digne de Samivel.
Je garde un souvenir plus mitigé d'un décollage par effet de "foehn" du sommet du Mont Blanc.

Quels sont tes projets à venir (parapente et hors parapente) ?

CD : L'expérience des derniers événements liés au confinement me conforte dans l'idée que les aventures doivent se vivre de manière encore plus locale. Que nous devons davantage être à la recherche de nouveaux regards plus que de nouvelles destinations lointaines. Qu'en revisitant une carte IGN et en faisant preuve de créativité on peut vivre encore de très belles choses en allant peut-être beaucoup moins loin. Je rêve de mêler un enchainement alpin logique avec l'aide du parapente.

Contact :
www.christophedumarest.com